Blog Categories

Geekheads News

What’s Wi-Fi 6?

IEEE 802.11ax, marketed as Wi-Fi 6 by the Wi-Fi Alliance, is a Wi-Fi specification standard, and the successor to Wi-Fi 5. The 802.11ax standard is expected to be published in February 2021.

Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) wireless Wi-Fi 6 (802.11ax) standard is the successor to the IEEE Wi-Fi 5 (802.11ac) standard. Wi-Fi 6 addresses the increasing number of devices in individual networks. Wi-Fi 6 operates in the 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz bands and features improvements in throughput, multiple-device support, and Wi-Fi spectrum efficiency. The following are major features of Wi-Fi 6:

Speed Improvements

1. Improvements in data speeds and signal encoding. Wi-Fi 6 enables devices to send more data in one transmission, resulting in speed improvements of up to 20%.

2. Improvements through higher order modulation (1024-QAM). Higher order modulation increases the efficiency and speed of data transmission on your network. This technology can give up to 25% improvements in speed.

Range improvements

20MHz-only devices and OFDMA’s ability to use smaller subcarriers means such devices can reach longer distances.

Efficiency and Capacity Improvements

1. Orthogonal Frequency-Division Multiple Access (OFDMA). This feature enables your router and devices to use your bandwidth more efficiently by reducing the time between data transmissions. As a result, more bandwidth is available for other devices. For example, the RAX200 supports several client devices per WiFi band with downlink and uplink OFDMA technology.

2. High-bandwidth traffic efficiency with 8-stream Multi-User-Multiple-Input Multiple-Output (MU-MIMO). This technology enables your router to communicate with many devices simultaneously. Wi-Fi 6 also allows 8×8 APs to use all eight streams to transmit information.

Do you have any questions?
Call 020 3637 6095